Slidecast and presentation

6 June 2013

09.40 in Washington 
14.40 in London
16.30 in Nairobi 
19.00 in Delhi 

As enthusiasm for universal health coverage grows, discussions spring up about the respective roles of the public and private sector in reaching this goal in developing countries. These exchanges have sometimes pit the two sectors against one another instead of identifying areas of collaboration that build on their respective comparative advantages. As one of several events leading to the Private Sector in Health Symposium in Sydney in July, please join a webinar during which we will identify factors and discuss examples of how the public and private sectors can work together to increase access to health insurance for low-income populations. 

Moderator: 
Thierry van Bastelaer (SHOPS Project, Abt Associates) 

Panelists: 
Alex Preker (NYU Wagner School and Icahn School of Medicine, formerly Head of Health Industry, World Bank/IFC) 

Sheila O'Dougherty (Abt Associates) 

Somil Nagpal (World Bank, former insurance regulator in India) 

This webinar is sponsored by Strengthening Health Outcomes through the Private Sector (SHOPS) http://www.shopsproject.org/