2013 Symposium‎ > ‎Webinar Series‎ > ‎

The potential of market-based models for reaching the base of the economic pyramid

Watch a recording of the webinar

09.00 in Washington 
14.00 in London
16.00 in Nairobi 
18.30 in Delhi 


The private sector have the potential to be an effective provider of health care products and services for populations at the base of the economic pyramid. 


This webinar presents two investment models: a market-based initiative and a challenge fund. The presenters will address the impact of these models with examples from programmes run by the Strengthening Health Outcomes through the Private Sector (SHOPS) project in India and sub-Saharan Africa. 

Arunesh Singh will discuss market-based partnerships and Colm Fay will present on a challenge fund recently launched in East Africa. 

Arunesh Singh, formerly of Market-based Partnerships in Health India, has over 14 years of development experience in corporate and social enterprises. He oversees market-based partnerships with private sector companies that address family planning, reproductive health, and child health. 

Colm Fay, a private sector specialist, focuses on business strategies for the base of the pyramid and impact investing. He manages the HANSHEP Health Enterprise Challenge Fund. 

This webinar is sponsored by Strengthening Health Outcomes through the Private Sector (SHOPS).

Slidecast and presentations

Comments